The Boys Are Back With Killer New EP – Metallic Hardcore Band HUMINOID Drop EP [Indonesia]

Indonesian metallic hardcore band HUMINOID have released an EP entitled ‘Pride Comes Before the Crash’. The EP is a follow-up to their 2020 demo ‘All Hell Broke Loose’, a 2-song promo in 2021, and their 2021 single entitled ‘Imprisoned’.

Huminoid was formed in 2017 being inspired by bands such as Zao, On Broken Wings, Martyr AD, and Turmoil. Through Pride Comes Before the Crash, Huminoid shows the maturity of their musical side and also shouts their anger through the lyrics. “The goal was to create something that was easier to play but far more complex in arrangement and darker than the previous songs,” said Matt (guitarist) regarding the process of writing this EP. All lyrics were written by Luky (vocalist) and cover a wide range of topics from personal to their surroundings/scenes of origin.

Pride Comes Before the Crash opens with ‘+431’, starting with a guitar riff that is dark plus gloomy and brutal which is immediately followed by an onslaught of breakdown after breakdown. The opening track jumps straight into the late 90’s metalcore sound into the early 2000’s. This is followed by ‘re:set’, which is fast-paced with lots of two-step parts scattered here and there. This second track also features guest vocals from Fikri, vocalist of modern mathcore frontman from Bandung, Rounder. ‘dead/end’ is a song that was re-recorded from a compilation by Samstrong Records (2022) and is a song that is quite complex and is closed by a panic chord breakdown part which is very brutal but dark. This is followed by ‘See Us, Crawl’, a short interlude for the listener to breathe but still retains the atmosphere of the EP. ‘More Breakdown to Come For’ immediately attacked again with the onslaught of metallic hardcore and heavier breakdown parts. On the final track ‘The Brightside of Many Things…’, Huminoid experimented heavily with their more melodic sound by using clean singing without sacrificing the brutal elements of their sound. This track is even more complete by presenting Latif Prabowo from the Bandung screamo unit, Swarm. In terms of recording and production, Matt (guitarist) sat behind the scenes in the mixing area and was then handed over to Praditya Eka Putra (Invasion Studio, Depok) for the mastering process. is an underground Asian music news website created for the sole purpose of supporting our own world. We support all bands and genres HOWEVER we do not support nor have any sympathy for homophobic, racist, sexist rhetoric in lyrical content or band material. UNITE ASIA!