Hong Kong indie-rock label Sweaty & Cramped send in massive update

Hong Kong indie-rock label Sweaty & Cramped have sent in a massive update regarding upcoming releases. It just shows how strong the indie-rock scene is in Hong Kong currently:

Sweaty & Cramped is teaming up with four local bands to produce four lathe-cut, 7 inch records.

The records will host material that are either previously unreleased (ie. new songs); or previously unprinted (ie. songs that were never printed on physical formats), each release is limited to 20-50 copies.

The records will be cut by Audio Geography Studios in the US, which is very experienced in producing small-run records.

The series will feature four releases:

1. Oh Nullah! – “Restitution”
– Side A: Last of My Mistakes
– Side B: Jaded Summer
– Release date: April 2017
– Genre: Punk
– Price: 100HKD

2. Stranded Whale – “Why Don’t You Be My Friend”
– Side A: Why Don’t You Be My Friend
– Side B: Dies In A Room
– Release date: June 2017
– Genre: Urban Folk

– Side A: Previously unreleased track
– Side B: Previously unreleased track
– Release date: Sept 2017
– Genre: Post-punk

4. Wellsaid – “EP”
– Side A: Narrow Pass
– Side B: I Guess Ian Is A Hypocrite
– Release date: Dec 2017
– Genre: Emo
The records can be purchased individually – via S&C’s online store or at local record stores.

We are planning a subscription programme – which allows people to subscribe to the series with a one-time payment.

They were even kind enough to send in some FAQ in case people get confused about what “lathe cuts” actually mean:

Q: Are these records vinyl?
A: Vinyl is a type of plastic. Similarly, the lathe-cuts will be produced on another type of high quality plastic (polycarbonate to be precise). So it is NOT vinyl, but it will play just like one.

Q: What is the audio quality like?
A: All releases will be produced in stereo, hi-fi audio quality. Which is to say, the quality is comparable to conventionally pressed vinyl records.

Q: Will these records be cut again in the future?
A: Nope. They will be one-off.

More info and videos below:



UniteAsia.org is an underground Asian music news website created for the sole purpose of supporting our own world. We support all bands and genres HOWEVER we do not support nor have any sympathy for homophobic, racist, sexist rhetoric in lyrical content or band material. UNITE ASIA!